• APMG International approved course content (Manual)
  • Free ITIL® Continual Service Improvement practice test paper
  • Access to online study material
  CERTIFICATE ITIL® 2011 Continual Service Improvement
  DURATION 2 or 3 Days
  COURSE DELIVERY Classroom, Live Virtual Classroom
  LANGUAGE English


The Service Transition module is one of the ITIL® Service Lifecycle modules, and will be of interest to candidates looking to focus on the use of process and practice elements used, and the management capabilities needed to deliver quality Service Management practices.
The Service Transition qualification would mostly suit candidates in the following
IT professions or areas:

  •  Configuration Manager
  •  Change Manager

The Service Transition module will help you gain the knowledge, skills and management techniques to coordinate all activities within Service Transition. The course syllabus covers the management-level concepts and core information of the activities and techniques within service transition, but not specific details about each of the supporting processes

Course Outline

Introduction to Continual Service Improvement:

  •  The purpose, objectives and scope of CSI
  •  The value to the business of adopting and implementing CSI
  •  The context of CSI in the ITIL® service lifecycle
  •  The approach to CSI, including key interfaces and inputs and outputs

Continual service improvement principles:

  •  How the success of CSI depends on understanding change in the organization and having clear accountability
  •  How service level management and knowledge management influence and support CSI
  •  How the complete Deming Cycle works, and how it can be applied to a real world example
  •  How CSI can make effective use of the various aspects of service measurement
  •  What situations require the use of frameworks and models, and examples of how each type can be used to achieve improvement

Continual service improvement process Processes:

  •  What the seven-step improvement process is, how each step can be applied and the benefits produced
  •  How CSI integrates with the other stages in the ITIL® service lifecycle
  •  How other processes play key roles in the seven-step improvement process

Continual service improvement methods and techniques:

  •  When to use assessments, what to assess and how a gap analysis can provide insight into the areas that have room for improvement
  •  How to use benchmarking, service measurement, metrics, service reporting, including balanced scorecard and SWOT, to support CSI
  •  How to create a return on investment, establish a business case and measure the benefits achieved
  •  How techniques within availability management, capacity management, IT service continuity management and problem management can be used by CSI

Organizing for Continual Service Improvement:

  •  The role of the CSI manager, and the roles of service owner, process owner, process manager and process practitioner in the context of CSI and how they can be positioned within an organization
  •  How to design, implement and populate a RACI (responsible, accountable, consulted, informed) diagram as well as how to use it to support CSI

Technology Considerations:

  •  The technology and tools required and how these would be implemented and managed to support CSI activities such as performance, project and portfolio management, as well as service measurement and business intelligence reporting

Implementing Continual Service Improvement:

  •  CSI implementation: strategy, planning, governance, communication, project management, operation, as well as how to deal with cultural and organizational change

Challenges, critical success factors and risks:

  •  The challenges and risks such as staffing, funding, management, etc., which can be related to CSI and the details behind how each challenge can be addressed
  •  The critical success factors related to CSI as well as how to measure and monitor them

Target Audience

The main target group for the ITIL® Intermediate Qualification: Service Transition Certificate includes, but is not restricted to:

  •  Chief information officers (CIOs)
  •  Chief technology officers (CTOs)
  •  Managers
  •  Supervisory staff
  •  Team leaders
  •  Service designers
  •  IT architects
  •  IT planners
  •  IT consultants
  •  IT audit managers
  •  IT security managers
  •  ITSM trainers involved in the ongoing management, coordination and integration of design activities within the service lifecycle
  •  Individuals who require a detailed understanding of the ITIL® service design stage of the ITIL® service lifecycle and how it may be implemented to enhance the quality of IT service provision within an organization
  •  IT professionals working within, or about to enter, a service design environment and requiring an understanding of the concepts, processes, functions and activities involved

About Exam

It is recommended that students should complete at least 21 hours of personal study by reviewing the syllabus and the associated areas of the ITIL® Service Management Practice core guidance, in particular Service Strategy, Service Design and Service Transition publications in preparation for the examination The syllabus can be downloaded from here

Type Eight (8) multiple choice, scenario-based, gradient- scored questions. Each question will have 4 possible answer options, one which is worth 5 marks, one which is worth 3 marks, one which is worth 1 mark, and one which is a distracter and achieves no marks.
Duration Maximum 90 minutes for all candidates in their respective language
Provisions for additional time relating to language Candidates completing an exam:
– in a language that is not their mother tongue, and
– where the language of the exam is not their primary business language
have a maximum of 120 minutes to complete the exam and are allowed the use of a dictionary
Prerequisite -ITIL® Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management
– Completion of an Accredited course from an ITIL® Accredited Training Provider
Supervised Yes
Open Book No
Pass Score 28/40 or 70%